Buddhist Geeks

I’ll be putting up the next chapter soon, but meanwhile you might like to listen to an interview I did with Buddhist Geeks – what a great name! “Seriously Buddhist and seriously geeky” they claim. Anyway I enjoyed talking to them.

You can listen at http://personallifemedia.com/podcasts/236-buddhist-geeks/episodes/44373-mystery-mind-ten-zen

8 Responses to “Buddhist Geeks”

  1. jacques79 Says:

    Hi, thanks Sue for adding the new blog, and sorry about the mess I caused by mixing the topics a bit in the previous one.

    Becouse I’ve already added a few comments regarding this topic, I’d only like to repeat my question: “what is the chair?” šŸ™‚

    Saying more seriously I think it’s time to end the everlasting war beetwen consciousness and matter, between “idealistic” and “materialsitic” world-views we seem to pretty got stuck in. Now we can realize there are two different domains, which require different methods of investigating – with notion that some help from one discipline to the another may be welcome.

    Bringing both views might help us to look even deeper at the reality and see that only “Thing” which truly unites them, like all the rest. Then we can see the world around us like a rainbow with all those colourfull manifestations of one bright Light. And that is the wonder of wonders!

    So, what’s the chair anyway?
    Regards šŸ˜‰

  2. jacques79 Says:

    You know what I think, you Britons have such a nice word in english: to comprehend, which means (anyway – I think so) something more then mere “understand”: to embrace, to include, to cover (cum – prehend).

    I’d suggest that what we need to do is to comprehend matter and consciousness by finding their deepest common nature – which is none of them alone. We just can’t turn one into another – that’s what we have already lernt very well. The answer wouldn’t be satisfying if we just threw away one from both either – then I think we miss some important aspect of the Wholeness.

    To comprehend – that’s I think is a very good word.

  3. jacques79 Says:

    Speking about Eastern views on the “hard problem”, I don’t really think they consider this as some particular problem – anyway not as much as we do here, in the West. Altough some speculations on that subjects can be found in the scripts of cittamatra, I think there is kind of general agrrement among buddhists that such a oppositions like body-mind are seen as purely relative and derivative (which is not surprise if you consider everything as possessing buddha nature).

    Problem with body – mind dualism is widely discussed in the fascinating book “The Quantum and the Lotus” (Matthieu Ricard & Trinh Thuan) which is – by the way – a nice and intelligible compendium of buddhist philosophy, as well as record of discussion between buddhism and science.

  4. jacques79 Says:

    Sue, I wanted to send you an email but couldn’t find it on your website (I think I know the reason…). I’ve just had some longer studies on your articles. What I want to say is that I’m just coming to realise how profound and important – of course in our small human dimension:) – your work is. I’d like to participate in all this stuff but I think there are better then me on this kind of topics.
    “It’s really good thing to trust in the Universe” – I love this sentence. This is awesome, this is essence of Zen in fresh Western-view:) In all this meme-chaos around your view is like breath of fresh air.
    Anyway – thanks for all of this and cross finger for you and your patience.
    ps: I’d really love to meet you one day and talk. You’ll tell me why ok? šŸ™‚

  5. jacques79 Says:

    ps2: And don’t even think I’m some bloody toady – you do deserve it! šŸ˜‰

  6. tenzenbookblog Says:

    Thanks for your kind comments. I’m sorry about the lack of an email address. I’m sure your guess is right – I hate not replying to emails people send me but if I put an address on my site I get swamped and can’t manage them all (not if I am to do any work or have a life). But here you are. Not too many people will come here and find it!
    susan dot blackmore at virgin dot net.
    Oh – and I’m not much good at patience – but trusting in the universe seems to get easier with practice (still hard at times!).

  7. jacques79 Says:

    Mmmm… Nobody’s perfect šŸ˜‰
    And yet everybody is šŸ™‚

  8. jacques79 Says:

    You know, once they asked Anthony De Mello “why he did what he did for people”. He replied “I don’t try to change anyone or anything. I just dance!”
    Who doesn’t like to dance? šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

